
Modern Christianity has few, if any, set dietary restrictions. Christianity is the world’s most-practiced religion. With roughly 2.2 billion Christians, the religion has more followers than any other. Thus, various denominations and churches have diverse beliefs. For example, some denominations observe meat-free days, especially during Lent, a period of about six weeks preceding Easter. Some denominations – including Seventh-Day Adventists and some Orthodox Churches – follow some Jewish dietary guidelines and, for example, forbid pork.
Fasting and Abstinence
The Catholic Church observes fasting and abstinence at various times each year. Fasting is the reduction of food intake, while abstinence refers to refraining from meat or another type of food.
As part of atoning for their sins, many Christians observe meat-free days during Lent. For example, in the United States, Catholics 14 years or older must abstain from meat (and items made with meat) on Ash Wednesday, Good Friday, and all the Fridays of Lent. Everyone between the ages of 18 and 59 must fast on Ash Wednesday and Good Friday.
Many Mormons (Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints) practice a monthly fast, equating to missing two meals, on the first Sunday of each month.
Alcohol in Moderation
Most Christian denominations allow moderate consumption of alcohol. A key Christian ritual – the Eucharist – involves the consumption of wine, either literally or symbolically. But some smaller Protestant denominations either discourage or prohibit the consumption of alcohol. These include Latter-Day Saints, Seventh-Day Adventists, Baptists, Methodists, and Pentecostals.
Vegetarian Traditions
Vegetarianism was widespread in the early Church, among both the clergy and laypeople. Christian vegetarianism is based on three main reasons: spiritual, nutritional and ethical. The ethical reasons may include a concern for God’s creation or a concern for animal welfare.
Various Christian leaders have recommended vegetarianism, including the founders of the Methodist Church and the Salvation Army, as well as leaders of the Bible Christian Church and Seventh-Day Adventists.
Many Seventh-Day Adventists are lacto-ovo-vegetarians; they avoid meat, poultry and fish, but will eat some animal products, such as eggs and dairy. Many Christian monks and nuns practice strict vegetarianism, including the Franciscans, Trappists, Trappistines, Carthusians, and Cistercians.
Mealtime Prayer
Christians traditionally offer a mealtime prayer called grace to thank God for the food before eating.
Reminder: In every celebration and observance, let’s embrace inclusivity in dining choices. Please be mindful of common food sensitivities and allergies, like nuts, gluten, dairy, and shellfish, when planning your meals. This consideration ensures that everyone can participate fully and safely in events.




















